I get it…New Year. Resolutions. 2015 Here we go!

This year and the past few years actually, I have not done a full New Years Resolution list. Really, I feel that if you want to improve ones life, they shouldn’t need a resolution to do it or to even start it. As for me it is a great boost since there are so many challenges out this year. Fitness and Finance challenges are my thing this year. Resolutions have been for people a motivator to get moving, but for those of realist and idealistic folks we know that, that motivator can only get you so far. This applies to the challenges as well.

After reading blog after blog after blog, I noticed a trend. Resolutions are being pushed out like last years fad. It’s a way to give ourselves a kick without having a word associated with it. This is my going to be what I will be doing for the year. Living without a resolution. Instead I am going to dedicate myself to live. Live life instead of just going through the motions. Excuses that have hindered me from living a good life that I have wished, hoped, and dreamed about, even envied others about.

Intention: I am going to live with intention. If I say I am going to do something, I am going to do it. I won’t give myself a timeline or even a deadline, since that feels like a resolution, but I will remind myself that I said I would do it. That will be the kicker. For example, I want to get my nose pierced. I’m not scared, more nervous about what it will look like and how much it will cost, but I know I will get it done. Financially I have it planned for April, but I digress. I am going to do it!

Grace: I have seen myself go from graceful, classy, and a young lady to a bitter, bitchy, and catty woman. That isn’t how I want to live my life. When I was in high school, I always looked up to people from the south. They had dignity and pride and always seemed wise beyond their years. So it was nice to get compliments that I had a southern mentality. Yes, I know some southerners are a bit much, but I will take what I can get. Still it was nice to have that. Grace is how I see myself. A lady who takes pride in herself, makes an effort to be kind to others, and goes about the world with optimism and class.

And I can do that with a nose piercing!

*** I have been working on this post for a few days now, so bear with me.***

The fitness resolutions are HUGE after the start of the new year. WE all want to look good and lose that weight from last year. Hell the amount of resolutions made by people are primarily about fitness. In my case its more about sticking with it. That can’t be a resolution for me. It should just be a lifestyle that I live.

Living with intention. Completing what I said I would do. Getting fit. Sorting out my finances and sticking with a budget. Getting out more socially. Loving myself for who I am. Learning about myself. Trying new things. STOP COMPARING MYSELF TO OTHERS. Getting help when I truly need it.

You don’t need a resolution to make a change. Change because you want to and just do it.

Leave a Reply

