Book Review: Ruby Red Kerstin Gier ( Ruby Red Trilogy)

8835379
Title: Ruby Red
Author: Kerstin Gier
Publisher: Henry Holt Publication Date: 2011
Genre: Historical Fiction, Paranormal, Mystery, Fantasy, Science Fiction – Time Travel, Young Adult
Rating: 3/5 stars

Plot Synopsis (Provided by Goodreads):
Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

My Thoughts:
So, when I first heard of this book, it was through several book tube reviews and I immediately wanted to read thanks to the beautiful cover and the rave reviews it got. The story takes place in modern day England following the life of Gwyneth Shepherd and her affluent family. Gwyn leads a normal life, despite some small differences: She can see ghosts and she is related to a time traveler. This isn’t really a spoiler, since the synopsis gives it away, but truths and lies are discovered and Gwyns normal life is no more and now she is thrust into the world of time traveling and looking to understand what years of training her cousin had in only a few weeks.

When I first started the audiobook, I was impressed with the story and was riveted by Gwyns time travel journey, but some of these situations in my opinion could have been avoided. The lies that went with hiding who Gwyn was, showed ignorance and basically set her up to fail with wishes and hopes for her to NOT get the time traveling gene. This basically irritated me after the revelation was made to the committee. It was one of the reasons that I had a hard time enjoying the book. The redeeming quality of the book came with the secondary characters. Gwyns Aunt was a hoot and a half and kept the flow of the book going with humor and dramatics. It was a great addition that I would have missed if the author had taken her out of the book.The main reason why the book got a three out of five stars was the flow. Since the book was translated from German to English, I think that some of the words and phrases may not have been translated to correct meaning that the author intended. It hindered my reading of the book and it seemed a lot more juvenile than was other reviews said it to be. Which leads to my last discontent, the book was a different age group than I was used to. I believe she was 16, but she acted like she was 14. I could have the age wrong, but she still acted like a child sometimes, along with other characters her age.

The book was a nice read, but I doubt I would read it again and I am on the fence about finishing the series, but I do want to know how it ends. Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

